Replumbing a toilet cistern

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone - hope you can help me as I'm new to plumbing (I'm a DIYer) and want to avoid making any stupid mistakes.

For what it's worth, my toilet is a low-level cistern job, with the cistern and pan connected via a PVC flush pipe with a push-in connector into the pan. The water feed into the cistern is side entry.

The other day, I noticed that the overflow from the cistern has never been connected up. I'm a bit paranoid (having had two floods already in this house) and so I want to connect an overflow in; however, there's nowhere near enough elbow room to drill a hole through the exterior wall and direct the overflow outside, plus the soil stack would probably be in the way. What are my alternatives? Ideally I'd like to connect the toilet overflow to the flush pipe, but I suspect this is a no-no.

At the same time, I'd like to replace the plastic cistern with a new one, because it's looking a bit manky. I intend to install one of the quiet fill valves at the same time instead of the normal ballcock valve - are these types of valves any good?

I also need to drop the cistern down a couple of inches. Is it easy to chop a bit of the flush pipe off to do this, or is it threaded at the top end for connection to the cistern? How do I go about shortening the flush pipe?

All help is very gratefully received!!

Sponsored Links
Is your toilet next to your bath? My sister lives in a flat with a bathroom which doesn't have any exterior walls. The overflow on her WC cistern is a plastic pipe which stops over the end of the bath, so if there was an overflow it would go into the bath.