1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Retaining wall questions - sleeper design

Discussion in 'In the Garden' started by jason61c, 6 May 2018.

1. jason61c

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all.

I've 22M of retaining wall do build, 1.2m above ground level.

I looked at blockwork, then rendered but wasn't keen on the look.

So i'm going to go for untreated hardwood railway sleepers, 2.6m x240x150. Supported with I beams. I was going to do them vertical, however would a 5deg towards the garden be a better idea?

How much beam should go into concrete? 600mm? Has anyone got any other ideas or thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

2. mikeey84

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    I'm no expert, but I am fairly sure that a retaining wall that high should be designed by a structural engineer due to the potential crush

3. jason61c

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think they do at this height? Its retaining soil, no heavy traffic, just garden. I could just shape bank and it wouldn't move, in theory :)

4. Sunshine12

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    I have something similar 800mm high. The sleepers I have are 200mm when lay on side, otherwise 100mm when lay flat. Think 2.4m long. 100x200x2400

Could you get a similar size then lay them horizontally, so that would 6 sleepers stacked (staggered joints) 6 @ 200mm = 1.2m, bolted through with HD coach bolts & 4 inch posts season spaced say every metre.

Then fill the retainer with hardcore & slab.

Use the sleepers for steps too?

5. Halitosis

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom