Ring Circuit Cable Size.....

N

newmodel

Hi, I'm new to this and just learning so go easy on me....

My question here is probably silly but I was wondering why a ring final standard size cable is 2.5mm with a 32A MCB or 30A Fuse?

Standard 2.5mm PVC holds around 27A right, so how do I know how much current will be drawn through the cable. Because if the cable runs through more then 400mm of insulation then it halves the current rating of the cable, which means even less current can safely pass through?

Am I right in thinking that each leg of the ring can pull up to 16A, so both legs can pull 32A before the main MCB trips, so the cable only has to hold 16A under normal conditions, but this should be cut out before that by the Fuse in the socket?

I may be babbling but any help would be appreciated thanks.

P.S Don't get to technical, I'm learning remember :)

Sponsored Links
A ring circuit is a special dispensation which is really no longer needed.

To answer:

I was wondering why a ring final standard size cable is 2.5mm with a 32A MCB or 30A Fuse?
It just is is the real answer.
The ring conductors must have a minimum current carrying capacity of 20A (1.5mm² would do) but 2.5mm² is the minimum allowed.
This goes back to (BS3036) 30A fuses which by their nature had a derating factor of 0.725 - 20A/0.725=27A. This has not been altered to accommodate MCBs with no derating factor.

Standard 2.5mm PVC holds around 27A right, so how do I know how much current will be drawn through the cable. Because if the cable runs through more then 400mm of insulation then it halves the current rating of the cable, which means even less current can safely pass through?
Yes - bigger cable or don't do it.

Am I right in thinking that each leg of the ring can pull up to 16A, so both legs can pull 32A before the main MCB trips, so the cable only has to hold 16A under normal conditions, but this should be cut out before that by the Fuse in the socket?