Rj11 broadband connections.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Here is the exam question:

I have a BT master socket with broadband face plate. However I need the router slightly further away.

I would therefore like to install an rj11 faceplate where I want the router. And connect it to the designed AB connections dedicated for this.

How do I wire it up? I know I use the center 2 connections on the rj11. But which way round?

Sponsored Links
A goes to 3.
B goes to 4.

I don't think the polarity matters nowadays, there no guarantee that your incoming line is the correct polarity in the first place!!

edited, because I had it backwards!

Last edited:
Thank you.

Where did that nice diagram go?

I will check it before use.

Yeah I notice phones use the outer connectors.

Last edited:
Where did that nice diagram go?

It was a bad one showing the front of the connector, i.e. they had the numbers going the wrong way, so I removed it.

Checking the cable shouldn't really matter actually, I assume you'll just be re-using the original RJ11 to RJ11 lead that you already have, which could well already be a crossover lead, but will of course be 'correct' if that's what the router wants.

Sponsored Links
Well I'm happy that the router cables I have looked at are consistent. EE / Sky / Netgear

The RJ11 outlets don't appear to have a standard though! for routers.

Having measured 3 micro filters and 1 face plate there does not appear to be a standard method.

Obviously all use the middle 2 pins. (routers)

@AndyPRK , sorry, I had them backwards. I have edited the reply earlier.

It had been bugging me as to whether I had remembered it correctly, so I checked earlier with a Mk2 faceplate and A is definitely 3 for an RJ11. They show continuity, as does B and 4 of course.

bt adsl to rj11.jpg

I was confused because the colour code changes from BT's A & B colours, to the CAT5e style 'swapping the centre pins over'!