Rotten roof timbers.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm renovating a 1920's 1½ storey end terrace and the ½ storey part has the roof timbers shown in the pic, obviously from water ingress over some time.
The two on the right are probably saveable when dried out, the two on the left are rotten for about four feet up but not actually falling to bits.
I'm thinking of stripping the roof tiles and sarking, about 6mx5m, sistering the timbers then cutting out the rotten bits.
Is this sensible or a complete non starter?.
I'm not a complete novice in this sort of practical thing and I can't really see the roof collapsing when repairing like this but,as usual, advice will be very welcome.
The white on the timbers is old plaster and not rot.

http://s251.photobucket.com/albums/gg292/trialscot/?action=view&current=DSCF0295.jpg

Sponsored Links
why bother sistering, just remove and replace.

if you are going to the trouble of removing the tiles and sarking boards, you will have a clear run at the rafters.

remove the rotten rafters wholesale and use them as a pattern against the new timbers.

:idea: check the wall plate too. :idea:

Many thanks for that, it makes it sound straighforward. I did wonder if there would be a danger of some sag in the ridge if I just removed and replaced them one by one, but after reading your post and thinking logically, if the tiles are off there's no weight on the trusses.
Yep, the wall plate is gone too (and some of the cupboard floor and most of the plaster on the ceiling below!) so quite a jolly day or two in store!.