Rule of thumb v calculations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We were told in the guides that if we limit a ring main to 100 sq meters we don’t need to calculate but is that still true? As an apprentice my mentor told me no more then one role of cable that being then 100 yards and slightly thicker than 2.5mm² so when we went to metric I suppose that was no longer true?

So looking at calculations seems we can consider a ring main feed from a 32A MCB as having a “Design current for circuit” (Ib) of 26A. It seems we consider 20A drawn from centre point and 12A spread even so even that is a rule of thumb.
We are given the formula Ct = (230 + tp (ca²cg²-lb²/li²)(ip – 30))/(230 – tp) see page 258 in BS7671:2008 and by using this we can modify the 18 mV/A/m to 16.52 mV/A/m using that modified figure to get a volt drop of 11.5V we can use 106 meters approx of 2.5mm² cable.

Looking at ELI we can use with same calculations 101 meters of 2.5mm² cable.
So 1.504 is max ELI that equates to a volt drop of 11.5 volts.

Although a short circuit to earth may open the RCD a short circuit line to neutral still needs the 5 x 32A to flow to open a B type MCB using the magnetic part of the MCB.
I would still look for 1.44 ohms line to neutral to ensure this is the case. Yes I know the earth wire is thinner so this will be around 1.7 ohms line to earth which is higher than the 1.5 ohms to get correct volt drop but use a C type then 0.87 ohms earth to line or 0.72 line to earth is max and many RCBO’s are C type.

So we do a inspection report and we measure the ELI at mid socket with a C32 RCBO and it is above 0.87 ohms. Is that flagged as unsatisfactory? If so what then? Can the owner ask the installer to come and correct free of charge? It this why we have a 10 year test so the builders guarantee has expired before we find out the installation did not comply?