Running Multiple LED Strip Lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Total noob here so please be gentle!

I'm currently landscaping a reptile vivarium and part of the project is the inclusion of various LED lights. I plan to use the strip lights featured on brightlightz (http://www.brightlightz.co.uk/produ...r-changing-strip-light-1m-30-led-s-controller) for this job, however the way it is going to be set out will mean that I will need to be running a number of strips of different lengths.

I just wondered if there's a way I can connect them all to the same power somehow? I'm a total novice when it comes to electrics, and wouldn't have the first clue how to go about this.

Also, if I were to cut the lights to separate them (as advised on the site), how exactly would I be able to then connect them back to a power source?

Apologies if I haven't explained this very well. Essentially I'd like about 5 strips of varying length (not too long) somehow connected to one power source. Any help greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
You need to ask all of these question of the people you're buying the lights from - they will have information on where and how you can cut the strips, they will also sell connectors, and they will tell you, or tell you how to work out, what size of supply you need.

Also, have you checked with reptile experts/forums etc that LEDs are OK to use?

Hi, yeah the LEDs are safe, I've had chats with folks in reptile shops and over in the reptile forum, and they are fine so long as they are of the waterproof variety. Many people use them because they produce a relatively low amount of heat compared to other lights.

I've tried contacting the company a few times but they just keep saying they'll get back to me. Oh well, I guess I'll have to persist! Thanks.