Safety advice needed for use of multimeter in car

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Noob here, and totally green at continuity measurement, etc. Sorry. :eek:

Anyways, I just bought a digi multimeter, and would appreciate safety guidance on its use.

1) If I were to test continuity, amps, whatever, with the multimeter, for instance under a car hood context, is it safe to start the car and then check measurements, or is there any safety prob here?

2) Or should only the battery be connected, and the ignition turned to the right, but no ignition?

3) Or should the ignition always be on "OFF" position?

4) Should I wear some sort of anti-static gloves/kit in some form? -- I seem to attract static, lol.

5) Any nOOb site/link you can recommend for me, where I can learn, in simple English, how to use a multimeter, and practice the skill with some exercises?

Excuse the qs. I don't wanna get any nasty shocks, electrical or static, by incorrectly using my new toy. All tips, tricks, and links will be much appreciated!

Cheers,
/RS

Sponsored Links
It does depend on what you are trying to measure. Most test you will not need the engine running a few you may need the ignition on. I think you would be better asking the question when you have a particular thing you need to measure.

Thanks for the reply. Ok, I need to see if there's any continuity in my car's cruise control connector/wires/whatever -- I'll then know what to solder. (As an aside, I also want to see if there are any shorts on my modded Xbox before I hook it up.)

Advice, again, will be much appreciated!

/RS

You can only measure the continuity between two points. Usually this is done to prove or disprove if the 2 points are closed circuit or open circuit.

Continuity of a cruise control connector does not make any sense.

Also do not confuse continuity with measuring voltage or current.