Sealing a hole in the bathroom wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

My first post here and I am no DIY expert so please bear with me and any assistance is greatly appreciated.

I have (unfortunately) an internal bathroom. The vent in the bathroom went into a very old rotting wooden type of "duct" inside the main bedroom cupboard and from there to the external wall of the bedroom.

The vent has been removed in order to install an extractor fan (due to the distance it needs to duct to the external wall, the fan is certrifugal, not a normal stick on the wall axial type, any way this is not important here).

What is important is, the square hole needs to be filled and somewhere in this filling there needs to be the new plastic rigid duct that will run beyond this to the external wall. The extractor fan will then be screwed into the repaired area of the wall, if this makes sense.

My question is, how can I repair this hole so that it has the plastic duct in it and also have it sound enough to hang the centrifugal fan onto it (the fan weighs around 1 kg)?

At first I thought, easy, just build a wooden box and screw it into the inside of the wall, however drilling holes in the wall is not possible due to it's size and the size of the drill, and then plaster and tile over this, then I thought I would concrete it in, however I have no idea how or what is the best way to do this at all.

Oh, the hole is 26x26 cm and is through a brick / concrete wall that is 15cm thick. Pictures are in the Hole in the wall album.

Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks,
Paul

Sponsored Links