Second coats of mult finish

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, just a quick question.

Done a bit of plastering for a while now here and there (self taught) but come across something that I cant work out what's best to do.

Plastering a large ceiling, got the first coat of multi finish on and flattened then come to the garage and miscalculated how many bags of plaster I had!! Not enough to do a second coat... the shops are now shut so can't nip out to get some more!

Would appreciate a bit of advice please :)

Do I...

A) get some more bags in the morning and mix up asap and get the second coat on and done

Or

B) wait 'till its dry, pva, then do 2 propper coats

Or is there anything else to suggest?

Many thanks
Charlie

Sponsored Links
So you flattened first coat in went to the garage and discovered you haven't got enough for the second coat? You should have tried to get a finish on the first coat if thats the case, if I were you now I would wait till morning pva it and start again here's a tip for you always get to much rather than not enough

Yeah pretty much.

Why do you mention finishing up the first coat? Because the first coat is a fairly good finish as I always like to get my first coat to a great standard as I find the second goes on much better...but I always thought you had to do 2 coats... would just the one be ok if I can live with the finish? Or shall I still pva in the morning and do 2 coats

Thanks for the tip, I usually do follow that way of thinking - but sometimes errors happen

Cheers
Charlie

If you got a good finish leave it another thing you could have done was mixed what ever you had left and use it to flatten your first coat in , you get a better finish with 2 coats but now days with the plastic trowels and all you see a lot of one coating especially on price work ,and I mentioned troweling up the first coat because that was your best option so if it's good leave it

Sponsored Links