Shelving problem???

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey,

I'm a complete newbie to DIY so I don't know why I didn't come on here earlier!

I'm putting up a couple of shelves for books (nothing too heavy, maybe 5-10kg) when I read online somewhere about how you shouldn't put anything against a hollow wall. I don't know much about these things but it seems to me as though this is exactly what I've gone and done.

Are my shelves likely to come crashing down in the next couple of weeks/days?

As I say, the load will be relatively light and I have around 10 screws for each shelf but this has got me quite worried!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
what size are the shelves depth and length??
how many brackets and what sort["L" shaped 'floating' rack??]

a few books is pretty much the heaviest load you can casualy place on a shelve if fully loaded

Sponsored Links
what size are the shelves depth and length??
how many brackets and what sort["L" shaped 'floating' rack??]

a few books is pretty much the heaviest load you can casualy place on a shelve if fully loaded
Shelves are 60cm long and 25cm wide. They are two completely seperate shelves. The fixings into the wall are hidden by the shelf itself as it slides onto the steel frame. The steel frame is 30cm long and has 5 pairs of screw holes along it.

I just tried posting a link but it didn't work. The specs are:

# This Floating Shelf is a stylish storage solution for all around the home.
# Dimensions in cm: (W)60, (D)25, (T)4.
# Weight: 7.5kg.
# Maximum weight supported: 30kg.
# Number of shelves: 1.
# Material: Particle board.
# Effects and finish: Mid oak effect.
# Also available in: Various colours and sizes.
# Includes: Brackets and screws for assembly of shelf.
# Fixings: Sold separately.

floating shelves are the worst as they have high leverage
you need to fix into solid wall with spacers or wood so all the load is on the solid wall spacers need to be 2mm bigger than the solid wall to back off bracket size