Should a novice do this?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I am considering fitting my own shower, and extending a piece of copper piping to fit the water mixers, etc. using compression fittings, etc. to run from the existing water pipe

I have never done any plumbing before, but watching a few videos, it does not look too difficult (no offence to trained plumbers, etc).

So the question is, is it easy enough to do for a novice, or would you advise getting a plumber in?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
If the pipework to be extended is to be concealed, I would recommend capillary soldering rather than compression but if pipes are accessible, compression joints are not too difficult to make, also handy to have some PTFE tape or plumbers mate at hand to make a good seal but really should not be need on compression joints.

Thanks.

No, not concealed, I need to run a copper tube from the existing water supply (hot and cold), that have capped off ends at present, so I thought:

1) turn stock cock
2) run taps to drain water.
3) take end caps off existing pipes.
4) 2 x compression elbows.
5) connect new pipes to elbows.
6) compression connectors onto mixer taps of shower (shower pod).

It's just leaks I am concerned about, having never done any plumbing before, but looking at youtube videos, looks fairly straight forward.

Sponsored Links
1) turn stock cock good start
2) run taps to drain water.okay
3) take end caps off existing pipes. right
4) 2 x compression elbows. if elbows are needed, yes
5) connect new pipes to elbows. I would fit service valves
6) compression connectors onto mixer taps of shower (shower pod). okay
It's just leaks I am concerned about
I would get a bit of plumbers mate on the olive to body of fitting, as this will help create a better seal, and if you then fit service valves, you will have very quick accessibility to isolate supply if any issues further downstream of this.