Shower pump not activating on cold flow

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Afternoon all,

Would be grateful for advice on the following please. Forgive any sloppy terminology but I'm not an expert...

I have a shower pump (Salamander CT55, I think) that feeds the mixer bath taps and mixer shower. Cold water comes from storage tank in loft, hot water from cylinder. A few days ago the pump stopped boosting the cold flow to both bath and shower: the hot flow activates the pump as normal. It seemed to correct itself yesterday (although the cold flow was not as strong as the hot flow, and not as strong as usual). This morning, same problem recurred, no cold flow.

There is no loss in flow to toilet or basin in the bathroom, although these are not fed by the pump.

The pump and associated pipework is not accessible without removing a tiled bath panel, so I haven't been able to examine more closely (although what I'd be able to do I'm not sure).

Is it likely this is a problem with the pump itself, or a blockage on the cold pipework feeding the pump? I don't understand how the toilet and basin are unaffected if it is a pipe blockage, as they draw their cold water from the loft tank; on the other hand, I don't know whether it's possible for a pump to fail on cold flow only. It seems to me that a lack of flow to the pump is the likely issue, but would welcome any thoughts.

Sponsored Links
The first thing to check (if you can get to it) is the filter on the cold sde of the pump. Sounds like it may be blocked.

Thanks Squeaky. Problem seems to have resolved itself as pressure back to normal, could blockage have cleared or is that wishful thinking? Will monitor...

Can you clarify, if you turn on the cold tap on the bath (which from the way you describe it should be running from the pump), does :

a) The pump run but you don't get the normal flow rate

b) The pump doesn't run