1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Sky Q remote controls?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by ericmark, 1 Dec 2019.

  1. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,564
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We have Sky Q, it was easy way out so did not have to thread coax into each room, the main set bottom box we could not change channel so swapped batteries in remote, worked for a very short time then failed again.

    So tried remote from other rooms, nothing, so phoned Sky who are sending us a new remote, however while on the phone we tried using other remote controls, on completing when to return the remote to rooms they came from, and found they don't seem to be interchangeable.

    Only one of the good remotes would turn on each Sky Q mini box, so it seems they are in some way paired to the boxes, how do you pair remote control and boxes?

    Found an app to change channel on main TV while waiting for replacement so I can use phone or table to change channel, I assume since needed IP address it will not work with other TV's unless reprogrammed?

    But for the future how do you pair a remote controller with the box.
     
  2. Iamchamps

    Iamchamps

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    857
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most modern remotes for sky/virgin are paired so you don’t need line of sight to control the boxes (can be hidden in cabinets etc)

    To reset the remote press 7 & 9 together on the remote until it's led flashes four times. Then press 1 & 3band follow onscreen instructions.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,348
    Thanks Received:
    652
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sky Q remotes use a mix of infrared and Bluetooth.

    IR is used in the first step of pairing a remote to a main box or to a mini box. Once this is done then Bluetooth takes over. However, Bluetooth only works between the remote and the box it was paired with. You can't move a remote and use it on a different box without going through the reset and pairing procedure again.

    The other thing to bear in mind is that the mini boxes need to communicate with the main box for a lot of their functionality. If this isn't working right because of a wireless connection issue then you may not find the mini box responding properly. If this is the case then try rebooting the main Q box (unplug power for 30 secs).


    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then please do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. blueagle78

    blueagle78

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My understanding is Sky Q Mini remote controls would work with other mini remotes but not with the master Sky Q box which is bluetooth. However you can change this in the Settings. I'm not in front of one now but if you brown through the left hand column, you'll see Settings and there's a sub-section for the type of remote control you've. You can choose from 3 different type of remotes.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,348
    Thanks Received:
    652
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AFAIK, 1st gen mini remotes were IR only. That has changed though. The later generation uses Bluetooth for mini remotes as well as the Touch remote for the main box.

    If it involves pairing a remote to a box then it's Bluetooth and that means a 1:1 setup.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page