Slab for timber garden room

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all!

It would be great to get advice and opinions for a garden room I am looking to build.

I’m a complete novice when it comes to blocks, concrete, slabs, mortar etc and have carried out a bit of research but I think to get the best and right answers, this forum may be it!

I’m looking to build a timber garden room/man cave approximately 6m x 3m.

I’ll be building on a 6” concrete slab (on 4” of MOT Type 1 and reinforced with rebar) and the slab will be bigger than the footprint of the room.

It appears that it’s best to have an air gap between floor and concrete slab so I have been working out the best way to create this. I think there are two options but here is where I’d be grateful for any expert guidance:

1) Place 100mm concrete blocks on top of the slab to provide the air gap and start the timber floor on top of these. If this can be done, is a perimeter of 1 block high enough to carry the weight? And is it a must that the blocks are secured with mortar or can an adhesive or even brackets be used to secure these to the slab?

Or

2) Place 215mm hollow blocks within the slab area so that they become part of the concrete slab pour and sit above the top of the pad. Fill the hollows to include rebar which will extend above block in preparation for the timber base which will have holes drilled for the rebar to go through. This (I think) would make the structure secure without movement?

I hope this makes sense trying to get the thoughts in my head into words lol.

Any help is much appreciated and I look forward to any replies. I can draw a picture of any of the two options above if needed!

Thanks all!

Dan

Sponsored Links
Why can't the floor joists just go on the slab and vent each end?

Hi @^woody^

Thanks for the reply.