Smell and pressure coming through shower trap

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Newbie here. Looking for some advise and help please

Back story…..

Some years ago my dad had an extension to his house which included a newly built downstairs shower room. Recently he had this downstairs shower room re-fitted/decorated. Quite a simple set up consisting of a sink, toilet and shower. However after my plumber/fitter completed the job we started to notice a real foul sewage smell coming from the shower trap. I’ve noticed in addition to the smell there was a fairly decent pressure of smelly air/gas coming out of the trap. After multiple attempts and messing with the trap and basket (that holds the water) I think I have stopped the smell/gas from coming into the room. Obviously if I take the sliver lid of the trap off for cleaning etc I notice the smell/gas again as it’s still coming into the trap pipes.

So my questions are as follows…..

1. Is this pressure of smelly air normal to come up through the waste pipe? I assume it’s coming from the soil pipe that the toilet is also connected to. But guessing there shouldn’t be any foul smelling pressure coming back up in the wage pipes?
  2. Am I correct in thinking that the small amount of water in the trap/basket should stop smelly gas coming into the room? I’ve checked and with all the trap components fitted, the only way for the gas to come through is through the water, but I’m assuming the water will completely block out the gas?
  3. The water in the waste trap basket is only around 38mm deep. I read somewhere that a shower trap water should be around 70mm deep as shallow water won’t block the gas……is this true? Or is the water depth irrelevant as long as the only way in or out of the trap is via the water?