Soil stack advice? (external)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm looking to re do all the waste pipes on the back of my house as I'm fitting new toilets etc. I've never done this before, so just wanted to make sure I'm on the right track. If you see the current photo

I plan to basically replicate this, but go more directly to the toilet waste, without those double 45 degree bends they've used.

Do I need an access fitting for rodding near the very bottom where the straight couple currently is?

The plumber told me to have lower pipes slotting into high pipes to avoid anything getting in, but as far as I can tell the t junctions and straight couples don't allow for this. Does it really matter?

Also I have a 21.5mm overflow pipe from the boiler upstairs, just dropping into a 36mm pipe, not sealed. Can you get an adaptor for this

Any other glaring issues you can see?

20200616_103146.jpg

Sponsored Links
Does the stack run directly to a manhole? If so, no need for a access point on the stack, (always takes a brave person to open it if there's a problem anyway, rarely the stack blocks, problem is usually underground but has backed up the stack...)

Not sure what you mean by lower pipes slotting into high pipes? If you're talking about having the sockets pointing downwards, then no, absolutely no benefit in doing that, and a very strange theory from your 'Plumber'. If the joints are made correctly then nothing will get in (or out!) anyway.

Condensate drain, yes you can get a 21.5mm adaptor to the waste pipe, ideally I'd be looking to run that initial section internally, and join onto the shower waste inside the building. It is rather a long run to have exposed, bear in mind if it freezes up you will have major problems.

Swan neck at the top, use correct bends which glue together, and stops it twisting about in the wind.