Solar Energy photo voltaic panels

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
There are now so many different solar panels that it is confusing as to which ones will last the longest. Does anyone have experience with solar pv and what do they think about it. How long really will these panels last in practical terms. I understand that solar pv roof tiles last longer; any comments anyone on the above.

Sponsored Links
I might be mistaken, but in our climate at least, the panels tend to degenerate before they've been able to pay for themselves. Looking at the cost per unit of energy generated, you start to see just how economical it is to generate power at a station and distribute it via a grid! Again, I could be wrong, but I think you'd be better off putting your money into an ISA or other "high-interest" account.

I don't know whether the situation has changed in the past two years: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...truth-They-dont-work-time-100-YEARS-pay-.html

I work as a solar panel installer. Most solar panels will have performance guarantees as to how well they will perform over time. My recommendation would be to pick a well known manufacturer who is likely to still be around to back their guarantee in 25 years.

Having said that the vast majority of panels will be manufactured to the similar standards (In the UK they should be MCS certified) but some panels have better performance attributes than others.

Oh and as for the pay back toolbeltdandy is simply incorrect and as the Daily Mail article is about solar water heating panels not solar PV although its still wrong about them as well.

If I owned a house and had the money I would have solar PV panels installed on my house without hesitation as they are one of the best pretty much guaranteed investments out there (8-11% return on investments)