solid oak floor problems.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there, i hope you guys can help me.

I’ll try to give you as much info that i can, but sorry if i go on a bit !!
I’m a general builder, and I’ve been dealing with some damp issues in an old cottage ( the usual stuff damp walls and floor etc).
There’s a solid oak floor laid to the lounge/diner, this had a section that had cupped quite badly this section is 4 boards ( 150 mm wide by 22 mm thick boards ) wide and 7.5 m long but these 4 boards are split in the middle with a nib of wall, so there are 4 boards either side of the wall 3.6 on each run, if that makes sense!
There was no expansion gap to this edge, in fact the boards were imbedded into the plaster and render, plus they were starting to go rotten on this edge ( you could push a knife into them).
My first thoughts were there’s no expansion gap and the wood swelling has caused this heaving.

I removed the skirting and these boards, they where stuck down to the concrete slab with a trowel on adhesive, when i lifted the boards there were areas that were wet, drops of water to the under side of boards in isolated areas, it looked like they were trapped between the adhesive and the timber.
When the damaged boards came up it lifted areas of the concrete slab, so i patched these up, i then blackjacked any holes behind the skirting that needed it and patched them up too. When this was all dry i blackjacked the exposed slab and up to the top of the skirting line.
This outside wall is a solid 9 inch wall thats been injected, but on the inside this is at the point where the wall meets the slab and the oak floor. The walls above the floor in this area are showing no signs of damp so I’m assuming that the damp injection that had been done some years ago is doing its job.

I couldn’t find any kind of flooring to match this off the shelf so i had to get some cut for me.