Sonos install. Hints, tips & advice please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm after some general guidance, hints, tips & recommendations on a sonos install. I have just ordered a Play 1 & plan to start with the one unit and then add to it when i can afford the extra ones.

I'm a security installation engineer by trade so will be more then capable to install cabling for power & Cat6. Is running a hardwired connection worth doing? To free up wifi i'm guessing yes.

My plan is to use the first unit & bracket to mark up the positions of future units. Then install a Cat6 and consealed fused spurs for power to each position.

Ideally the finished install would see two play 1's in lounge behind sofa in line with TV with a Playbar to connect to TV. And another Play 1 in bathroom and possibly two in bedroom.

Installing on Flexson Wall brackets too.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I am a Sonos dealer and installer. The plan to hard-wire is a good one, but if you're putting in the Cat6 just for Sonos then it's overkill: Use Cat5e instead. That might seem a backwards step given that everything is going to faster cable in home installation, however, the network traffic for Sonos isn't anything like as heavy as moving the data bits for video streaming. Cat5e will handle Gigabit speeds up to 100m, so unless the house you're wiring is some sprawling mansion then Cat5e will be more than adequate for audio streaming even of FLAC audio files.