speed fit?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
just wondering on what people opinions are on use speed fittings either the copper or plastics ones is over traditional soldered fittings.
i need to alter the pipe work as i'm fitting a mixer shower i've used soldered fittings before although i will be a little rusty at doing them as the last ones i did were about 10 years ago, i've never used speed fit before and am just a little wary of something that just pushes together as use the pipes are in i wont be able to gain acess to them should there be a problem. :D

Sponsored Links
Never keen on them myself. The seal is a rubber ring which will possibly alternate between hot and cold depending on pipe usage. Seem to remember the eventual degrading of a rubber seal being the cause of the spaceshuttle blowing up!!

i agree yp or endex copper fittings are always my first preference but if used correctly then any of the suitable plastic pushfit ranges will be ok

you can't beat a perfectly soldered connection.
a properly installed pushfit is still a lot better than a poor soldering job.
i have been using polyplumb for several years and never had a problem.
had one problem with an installation done in hepworth, which i used before polyplumb.

Sponsored Links
It's the longevity of the speedfit fittings that worries me!

50 years on polyplumb pipe, and 30 on the fittings if i remember correctly.
i know that is too long to ever expect to have to prove, but it is not a bad start

50 years on polyplumb pipe, and 30 on the fittings if i remember correctly.
i know that is too long to ever expect to have to prove, but it is not a bad start

True, if it is true. How long have these fittings been around?
Maybe it's my suspicious and cynical side, but temp change, variable pressure, chemicals in pipe etc etc - it corrodes metals, so what chance does a rubber o-ring stand?? Rubber notorious for degrading.

good point.
i wonder if rubber has evolved anywhere near as much as plastics.