Sponge Finish

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, iam rendering a wall friday (weather permitting) and was going to float finish it, but i read on another thread that a sponge finish is easier to achieve?

Can someone tell me how to sponge finish my render ? i mean do i use a wet or dry sponge? do i rub it up and down or in a circular motion? basically i have never done a sponge finsh before so i havent a clue !!!

Also do i need to float it before i sponge it or can i sponge straight after i have levelled it off with my feather edge

Thankyou

Sponsored Links
The way I do it is to scratch coat, with scars running horizontally, top coat (next day)laid on with a steel trowel level/flatish to the eye, leave for a bit testing every while with a sponge, when ready, (you'll know) circular action rubbing out the trowel marks..

I dont use a feather edge... unless it needs to be really, really flat, i.e. a bathroom.

You can do it early for a rougher finish or later for a smooth finish

cheers mate. Does the sponge have to be dry or wet?

Also do you bother feather edging your scratch coat ?

Cheers

cheers mate. Does the sponge have to be dry or wet?

Dry, dry, dry. Bang it on the floor to de clog it too. Keep another sponge handy.
Also do you bother feather edging your scratch coat ?

No. But, if there are any obvious hollows, then these need to be filled.

Sponsored Links
cheers mate you saved me a lot of work then i was gonna feather the scratch coat !!!!

Can i ask a couple more questions please?

Is it ok to render in the rain? or does it have to be completely dry ?

And also i have an area of painted brickwork that iam going to coat with SBR. Can i coat the rest of the area thats going to be rendered with SBR or will this cause me problems ?

Thanks

cheers mate you saved me a lot of work then i was gonna feather the scratch coat !!!!

Can i ask a couple more questions please?

Is it ok to render in the rain? or does it have to be completely dry ?