Spreading tile adhesive on tile rather than on wall - why?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am having my bathroom done by some people and I noticed something that might not be normal. Rather than spread the tile adhesive on the wall and then place the tiles on it, he has put the adhesive on the back of the tile used that grooved spreading tool for tiling to spread it over the tile (dont know what its called) and then stuck it on moisture proof plasterboard. I am no tiling expert but the way I usually see it done is to put adhesive on the wall first and the put the tiles on. He has done it in a way that I can see the green coloured plasterboard between the tiles, but wont be seen later when the grout goes in. What motivated him to do it this way? The other way of doing it seems much more stable as there is more adhesive on the wall to work with. These people seem quite good overall and I have seem examples of their other work.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Most tilers apply to the wall due to speed and a better overal fixing, when I first did a bit of tiling, the guy I used to work with used to butter the tiles and not the wall, it was painfully slow.

It's not idea but not the end of the world, it will more than likely stick just fine.

Puting adhesive on the tile rather than the wall is sometimes useful when working in tight awkward spaces but all the pro tillers I know generally apply the adhesive to the wall, especially on a good flat background such as PB. It also ensures a nice even bed of adhesive so the finished tile face will look flat & even.

Puting adhesive on the tile rather than the wall is sometimes useful when working in tight awkward spaces but all the pro tillers I know generally apply the adhesive to the wall, especially on a good flat background such as PB. It also ensures a nice even bed of adhesive so the finished tile face will look flat & even.