Stand alone power supply help?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Im a drummer who needs a stand alone power supply in my garage for my practice studio. Unfortunately getting the garage hooked up to the main power supply is not an option, so ill need a stand alone power source.

Ill be powering a single light bulb, a 3Kw fan heater/cooler, a hifi system and hopefully in future a computer - so nothing too big. Ive just started looking at generators, which look a bit expensive and potentially noisy, and have just read about solar powered rechargeable batteries, perhaps I might get two of them and have one on charge while the other is being used?

Any thoughts/suggestions on those or alternative power supplies that would to the job would be a great help.

cheers,
James.

Sponsored Links
3Kw plus is pretty big for portable power. You'd need some pretty substantial batteries and lots of solar panels.
I would look at an alternative for heating, maybe a portable gas heater and cylinder.

Sponsored Links
With a narrow boat we tried using a cheap modified sin wave inverter to get power from the three 160AH batteries already fitted rated at 3kW with 6kW peak cost around £170 and was a flop. It gave out expensive blue smoke and was returned under warranty at a cost of £85 by time customs duty added and the second one also went faulty.

Also many items don't like modified sin wave so talking at least £400 for inverter better at 24 volt than 12 volt at least 2 batteries more like 8 but a 160AH traction battery (vehicle is no good) costs at least £200 each so ball park with out even looking at solar panels is £800 so clearly a generator will be far cheaper.

Generators again come in many flavours and the inverter generator will vary speed according to load so at light load it only ticks over where the non inverter type will always rev at 1500, 3000, or 6000 revs according to type and noise can be a problem.