stoned driveway pls help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
firstly im totally not great at diy im a welder not a builder lol recently my girlfriend has had trouble gettin her car window smashed an broken into so we decided to make gates in her fence an drive the car in the front garden the front garden has stones in it but has thick plastic below them which i guess stops us driving the car right in at the min im fearful the car would get stuck as the garden is little sloped and uneven.we were just wanting to get the car in off the street at the min would it work if i just placed few paving stones down loose on the stonesor can anyone give me some advice pls?iv added a pic below

Sponsored Links
I'm sure in your heart of hearts that you know the best way is to dig it out, put in hardcore ...well basically do a proper job.

Being realistic, I guess time is short and you may have a restricted budget.

I you put down paving slabs and the the ground is soft then the weight of the car will break them up.

I would suggest, and this is a Heath Robinson SHORT TERM possibility, is to run the car in - making tracks in the stones - take the car out, and assuming the young lady can accurately drive the car in using the same tracks time after time, you can reinforce the track area, by digging out 6 inches or so and put down some large aggregate, tamping it firmly down with a lage fence post.

(There used to be a film that you can attatch to the insides of the car windows that holds the glass together in the event of someone smashing it - stops them reaching in and unlocking it alledged - may be worth researching the net to see if still about.)
Good luck

I'm sure in your heart of hearts that you know the best way is to dig it out, put in hardcore ...well basically do a proper job.

Being realistic, I guess time is short and you may have a restricted budget.

I you put down paving slabs and the the ground is soft then the weight of the car will break them up.