Suspended block and beam flooring issue with new build.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone have any ideas on how to deal with an issue I've been having with a developer? (if its an issue)

We have a suspended block and beam floor, Forterra Jet floor. We have cold coming from the void under the floor into the house, its not the dot and dab as its coming up from the floor. The developers have said its due to shrinkage in the screed and want to fill the gap with foam. They haven't checked anything or done any tests apart from an air test and thermal which shows the cold spots all along the floor.

Why I'm questioning this is because when they were in doing some work on the floor/airbricks (kind of different issue) I noticed the gap all the way along the wall and after investigating and looking i noticed the gap went all the way to the void under the house. As you can see from the picture there is a slug, so the gap is big enough for him to happily fit.

I'm not an expert but after researching the floor type I cant see how this is possible. I get the screed can shrink but the blocks and insulation blocks shouldn't? right?!

can anyone shred some light?

Attachments

• Picture1.jpg
    Picture1.jpg
    109 KB · Views: 49
  • Picture2.jpg
    Picture2.jpg
    104.8 KB · Views: 46
Sponsored Links
VideoCapture_20240118-181905.jpg

@freddiemercurystwin please see image. The hole was made by the developer which they have filled back in. My issue is with the surrounding gap. I asked at the time about the gap and was told it was within tolerance due to shrinkage, which I'm not so sure about. Sorry, it's not the best image, I used a mini camera. It showed there was a gap on either side of the hole which is about 4-5mm wide. (Definitely not because of the hole made)