Suspended floor insulation for UFH

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi- newbie here!

I'm looking to install wet UFH as part of a heat pump install.

Floors are suspended timber, with 100mm joists. There's a c.200mm void underneath.

I plan to PIR insulate from bottom of joist up, leaving a 25mm gap for pipe and biscuit mix screed on top of PIR. This will either be through 50mm PIR board on a 25mm batten, or potentially roof soakers at joist level with a 75mm PIR level.

My question is around the edges of the room.... Do the boards need to butt up directly against the wall? Do I need to seal/protect anywhere with a membrane of sorts? If so, where does this go? Under the PIR or on top? (Struggling to find a definitive answer so really welcome views!)

Sponsored Links
Hi- newbie here!

I'm looking to install wet UFH as part of a heat pump install.

Floors are suspended timber, with 100mm joists. There's a c.200mm void underneath.

I plan to PIR insulate from bottom of joist up, leaving a 25mm gap for pipe and biscuit mix screed on top of PIR. This will either be through 50mm PIR board on a 25mm batten, or potentially roof soakers at joist level with a 75mm PIR level.

My question is around the edges of the room.... Do the boards need to butt up directly against the wall? Do I need to seal/protect anywhere with a membrane of sorts? If so, where does this go? Under the PIR or on top? (Struggling to find a definitive answer so really welcome views!)
You cand screed onto a timber floor.

Wet UFH is doable with suspended timber floors, but the heating pipe array needs to be suspended on trays, in between the joists.

I'd put 75mm PIR under the joists too, in a continuous layer, and go your 75mm between route. Run all PIR to the walls and seal it using a bead of expanding foam. Do not run the biscuit mix to the walls.

How long are these joists? 100mm sounds rather small for a usable room size; do they have interim support?