SVP and BIG usage?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm just beginning to refurbish 2 bathrooms in my 'new' bungalow that are side by side. So far I have stripped both out down to the concrete slab. Currently one has wc, bath, bidet and sink the other has bath and sink only. I intend to add a wc to that without and need to move some of the items to allow moving a wall to make the smaller, family bathroom, bigger than the en-suite. Moving the wall will transfer the single wc soil pipe to the other bathroom.

There is an inspection chamber directly outside. The existing wc is connected direct by a 100mm soil pipe, all other items drain via two 100mm soil pipes that are imbedded in the concrete slab. These two connections enter the system via two back inlet gulleys located somewhat randomly in the lawn but between the house and the inspection chamber. There are no other drains into the hoppers of the BIGs. There is also a separate svp connected direct to the inspection chamber.

Obviously I can't use the BIG connections for a wc (or can I?) but can I use the svp instead so as to avoid digging up all the bathroom floor as it runs under the bathroom and will still vent above roof level inboard of the bathroom?
Maybe taking out the BIGs and connecting direct could be done? It seems to me that the BIGs are not really necessary.

Sponsored Links
It could be feasible to use the gulley connections, provided the gulley(s) are removed. A WC must be directly connected to the drain. The gulley can be removed and the gap bridged by use of a couple of suitable connectors and a section of 4" pipe. Care must be ensure when making this connection that all pipe ends are carefully chamfered, you dont want any rough edges where material can catch causing a blockage.