Terminal blocks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I’m new to this so bear with me please! I’m sure the answer is no but I thought I’d ask!

A friend has shown me how to wire a hive receiver into a EPH, the reason it’s there is because we have split heating zones.

Anyway I can’t get the cables to fit as there’s already too many there. My question is, can I use a higher amperage terminal block in its place? I’m assuming the block is 3A as that’s the fuse rating of the boiler, a higher amp terminal block would help fit the wires.

I’ve attached a pic if the EPH in question!

Can I do that?

Thanks all

Attachments

• 427E6A46-E54E-4AAB-81A5-6DF19BA87DA1.jpeg
    427E6A46-E54E-4AAB-81A5-6DF19BA87DA1.jpeg
    147.3 KB · Views: 321
Sponsored Links
Personally i would spread them over 2 of the unused connecters and link across the 2, keep the cables in there relevant pairs, they look like 15 amp connecters, bigger are fine but you dont want the wires loose in a too big hole
Alternatively cut the cores shorter so some enter the top and some enter the bottom of the existing connecters, it dont need 2 screws clamping the same core.
Also if them grey wires are neutrals they should be tagged N or marked blue

Last edited:
in its place?

The spacing between them won't match the existing one, so it will be tricky to get it neatly screwed into the box like it is now.

s-l300.jpg

You could end up with a mess like this...

dfbsfbsfbsdfbsdfbsb.jpg

Sponsored Links
Yeah that's the last thing I need it looking like!