Testing power to pump with a multimeter

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've got a sewage pump that is broken. Before i start the expensive job of replacing i just want to check their is power to it using a multimeter. I've checked the fused spur and trips and all appear well but wanted to make sure there is a current passing through the cable into the pump itself.

I'm a complete novice but have a basic multimeter from screwfix.

Please could you advise what settings i need to use on the meter to test the cable ?

Cheers,
Mike.

Sponsored Links
It depends upon the meter and the voltage you are reading. If the pump is mains operated, and you want to check there is power to the pump across the Live and Neutral, then usually you need to set the multimeter to measure AC Voltage, and then select the highest value above 230v (UK mains) Some meters have dials or buttons to select this, others have different sockets to plug the test leads in. Some have an autorange facility and will select the right voltage for you automatically.

If you want to test the continuity of the cable, it should be disconnected from the mains and then the end of each wire connected to the multimeter which would be set on ohms, and tested individually. The multimeter will provide its own power internally for this function

If you post details of your multimeter, or a link to the item on the Screwfix website, someone will be able to provide a more definitive answer.

Edit: There is a video here that may help.

Last edited:
I would look for some where to safely clamp the meter on, I use some thing like this
1635878350231311667_ca2d87b0-8e71-4b7e-a46f-11c3ce3f8417.jpg
the other option if on a plug is something like this
s-l225.jpg