Textured Paint - how to remove

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Folks, Firstly i've just registered, and im a DIY novice :(

I have a plasterer coming tomorrow morning to skim my bathroom ceiling. Its a small bathroom 2x2 probably.

The guy who put the ceiling up made a real mess, and it looked worse than it did than before he started. Anyway we decided to cover it up some some kind of textured paint paint which was full of sand and water. It didnt stick very well and looked honking after doing about a quarter of the room gave up, bit the bullet and decided to phone another plasterer to skim it for me. He says i need to get this stuff off first. What the best way to do this? Ive tried sandpaper but it takes for ever, any better ways of doing this?

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
Can you actually pull/scrape it off easily? A steamer & scraper is probably your best bet & I use this method to remove old Artex coatings which I prefer to do rather than skim over. You can, however, skim over practically anything as long as it’s securely stuck to the wall/ceiling. Difficult call without actually seeing it but I would have thought he could have skimmed over it with the right preparation.

Did your original plasterer skim the ceiling or just put the boards up? Did you put the paint onto bare boards or bare plaster?

Can you actually pull/scrape it off easily? A steamer & scraper is probably your best bet & I use this method to remove old Artex coatings which I prefer to do rather than skim over. You can, however, skim over practically anything as long as it’s securely stuck to the wall/ceiling. Difficult call without actually seeing it but I would have thought he could have skimmed over it with the right preparation.

Did your original plasterer skim the ceiling or just put the boards up? Did you put the paint onto bare boards or bare plaster?

Thanks Richard.