the hot water tap in my house has lost its pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

Since last night all of a sudden the hot water flow from my kitchen and bathroom taps has become very slow.

Does anyone know why this would happen all of a sudden?

What can I check, has something gone wrong?

Thanks, any help would be appreciated.

Syed

Sponsored Links
probably the ball valve is sticking in the cold feed tank.

before it stopped running fast did anyone fill a bath & did it start to splutter after a while or even stop. if it happened without anything else it might be a blockage in the cold water storage cistern above the cylinder. iv been to the same fault & have found dead mice stuck in the feed outlet of the tank. once found a bat .

Sponsored Links
Hi,
thanks for the responses. I am not very technical with these things, so here goes:

I do not have a combi boiler in my flat, i have to turn on the hot water switch in advance to get hot water. Upstairs I have a big water tank that is covered by a sponge material and above that I have the cold water tank.

Far as I know there was nothing unusual whoch happened before the loss of pressure.

Hope this helps

Syed

the tank with the spongy stuff is a hot water cylinder. above it is the cold water Feed & expansion tank. The pipe that comes out off the bottom of the tank takes water to the bottom of the cylinder. Have a look in the top tank to see if u can see a blockage where the bottom pipe comes out of the tank. u may need steps & a torch.

the tank with the spongy stuff is a hot water cylinder. above it is the cold water Feed & expansion tank. The pipe that comes out off the bottom of the tank takes water to the bottom of the cylinder. Have a look in the top tank to see if u can see a blockage where the bottom pipe comes out of the tank. u may need steps & a torch.