Thermostat question - Fiat Scudo

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm going to flush my cooling system on Fiat Scudo 2.0jtd van (2004) at the weekend. I have no experience of modern thermostats, and I believe the stat on this van has a rubber seal that fits around the edge of the actual stat.

Does this rubber ring seal also form the seal between the stat housing cover and the block, or will I need a paper gasket to do this?

Also, does anyone know if the rad is likely to have a bleed plug at the top? There's one on the stat cover, but not sure about the rad itself. The coolant reservoir is the highest part of the system, so I don't suppose there should be much problem with air if I leave the cap off with engine running after refilling.

Another thing - the coolant in at present is red. Will the Scudo be OK with blue, as I have lots of that in the garage?

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
I've never known a thermostat with its own seal require another gasket, but obviously when you unbolt the thing all should come clear. I am fond of smearing a bit of blue Hylomar around the rubber though, just to help things along.
Regarding the coolant - blue stuff usually has a life of 2 years, and the red stuff 5 years......however some manufacturers use their own formulas which may be yellow or green, for example.
Its best not to mix the stuff, and bear in mind its not the antifreezing qualities that disperse, its the corrosion inhibitors......if your stuff is ancient then I'd go for a new mix such as Comma.
The radiator probably doesn't have a bleed screw at the top side - the common places are the thermostat housing and the top heater hose.
Just run the engine up to temperature, adding coolant as necessary as you go.
John :)

Thanks for your reply John.

Just watched a Youtube video for changing the same type of stat with rubber seal around the edge of stat. He didn't use anything else to seal it - so will whip mine off and see.