Thermostatic valves on all radiators ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have thermostatic valves on all but one radiator, the one in the dowstairs hall which also has a room stat. I was told it was necesary to leave one Rad without a valve but I'm wondering if this is true and we have a hot hall which is just wasting heat.

Is it possible to put thermo valves on all Rads, remove the room stat, and fit an automated byepass valve instead? (I have a Vaillant EcoTec plus system boiler, which I believe includes a bypass valve, heating Rads and vented HW tank).

If so, can anyone point me in the right direction for design of installation of the bypass valve.

Thanks

Mid

Sponsored Links
Like I've said in previous posts, I'm no expert, but a stat without a TRV in that room is most common, so it has to be the best way to installing systems.

If your hall if getting too much heat and turning the stat down does nothing, turn the lockshields down.

What you've got is the correct way of installing the stat and TRV's.

When the hall gets to the temp set on the stat, the stat will turn off all the rads, so the hall won't/shouldn't get overheated if the rads have been sized correctly.

It is a learning curve for you to find the optimum setting for the stat so the other rooms get to the required temp and the TRV's shut down each individual radiator.

The problem I have is that heating the hall is a waste of energy, at most we briefly walk through it so all I want to do is take the chill off.

As far as I can see teh reason for leaving one radiator without a valve is to ensure thepumped water has somewhere to go if all valves shut down. Wouldn't a byepass valve do the ame job. In which case doesn't it follow that if you have valves on all radiators you don't need a romstat?

Sponsored Links
You need a roomstat to comply with Part L regulations. This then forms part of what is called the 'boiler interlock'.