Tips on painting a feature wall (chimney breast) please?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
IMG_1669.JPG

Basically the chimney breast - that's the face & the 2 small side sections is to be painted a different colour to the other walls (the 2 you see either side of it here).

Now i'm a novice painter. I'm looking for advice on how i can get a professional line down there where it right angles.

If it helps, the chimney breast is going to be a shade of red & i think the walls at either side are going to be some kind of sandy beige colour. I think that's what my wife decided on :)

* So would you paint one wall before another (i.e. red chimney before sandy joining walls or vice versa)?
* I assume ceiling before anything?
* And the one that bothers me the most - how do you get a perfect line on that right angle so one colour doesn't bleed in to another?

I imagine you can frog tape right down the line, but surely it's inevitable that some paint will bleed under the tape somewhere along the line?

Sponsored Links
You can't beat a good quality, chisel-tipped synthetic brush. Don't be tempted to us a small one either because you will have trouble keeping it steady - use a 2½-3" one, starting slightly away form the corner, then slowly drag the brush down and into the corner (you can also drag upwards if you prefer). This should give you a nice, neat, line but you may still get the odd stray bristle mark on the other wall. If this happens, you can touch up with a smaller brush when dry - I always used a round, chiselled, sash brush, if this was ever necessary, but I had countless brushes to choose from.

One tip I can give, if you want to try it, is to lightly run the edge of a scraper down the corner, before painting, to make a very slight indentation. This will help guide the brush tips and stop paint from bleeding around the corner.