Transformer for US inductive load appliance

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is a bit of a saga so I'll start with the short question and then for those who would like the background carry on a bit:

I have a Vacmaster VP112 vacuum chamber sealer US version 110V/60Hz 600W. I have blown it up using a voltage converter that I now realise was crap. :oops:

I am hoping to replace the damaged parts and if successful would then get a proper (more expensive) transformer to use it.

However, as it literally blew something up on the circuit board I want to check my repairs have worked before shelling out on a beefier transformer. I was therefore thinking to hire a 110V yellow box site transformer to test it with.

Will this work, and is it just a case of wiring the centre tap to appliance earth and the other 2 pins to the other 2 appliance pins ?

Ok that is the question. More background follows:
I bought this while in the US as there it was $699 whilst the EU model is £780. Obviously I knew the voltage differences and frequency, but thought using a transformer would be OK and knew I also already had one like
this

When I turned it on it seemed OK, but as soon as the pump started to operate it just made a buzzing noise and then after a second or 2 the display went off.

I 5A fuse had gone on the PCB that I took to be a power supply circuit. I thought perhaps the 50Hz/60Hx difference had caused the pump to overload. To check if the rest of the electronics were OK I replaced the fuse and disconnected the pump wiring.

When I powered it up again it was OK, but then a buzzing noise and one of the large capacitors literally exploded.

I have now gathered that the 50Hz/60Hz is probably no big deal and much more likely is that the output from the crap power converted was not well received by the PCB which I have since guessed is a 12V high power switched mode power supply - (the sealing bar is 12V 1 ohm so I reckoing 124 Watts).