Treating/Painting a gable end wall

M

mattih5

Hi,

I'm new on here to hopefully I can word this correctly as I'm fairly new to DIY so please bear with me. We purchased our first house , a 1880 stone terraced house, a year ago. We ran into issues in the first 6 month regarding condensation which I think is basically down to our naivety.

Basically we were using the spare bedroom to store several large boxes from TV purchases etc but the mistake we made being that we leaned them against the newly decorated gable end wall and used the room to dry cloths without ventilation. As you can guess after moving the boxes we were presented with a behemoth of mould spores.

After spending a long time removing the wall paper and some silicone backed lining we now have a bear wall to decorate. We have wised up to the whole condensation and mould issues by ventilating, drying cloths outside if possible and using water traps throughout the house.

My reason for the post is that I've been told that the walls need sealing. The previous owners used a silicone lining to stick the wall paper so there hasn't been any form of paste applied to the wall, the silicone seemed to enhance the mould issues as they'd spread quite rapidly under the wall-paper. The most crucial thing is I'd like to paint the wall with some protective paint or treatment to reduce as much as possible the likelihood of mould forming. We've had the walls bear for 6 month now and no signs of mould have come back.

So in short, I have two bedrooms one with plain plaster and one that has been painted. Both gable-end walls I'll be re-painting but would like to reduce the whole mould thing as much as possible. I've been told of additives etc but I'm not entirely sure what the best approach is. I've bleached the painted wall several times to remove the mould growth which seems to have worked. The only traces being black marks on the brown paint which I can't remove.