Triton Cara Electric shower.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'd appreciate some advice if there is anyone out there who can help.

Although not a professional I am a fairly competetent DIY amateur. Yesterday I replaced our old Triton shower (which had started leaking and which was at least 16 years old it was here when we moved in) with a Triton Cara 9.5Kw electric shower. The installation went very well and apart from rerouting some pipework there was no problem at all, or didn't seem to be.

Once installed I ran it through the commissioning procedure (flushing it through) and there was no problem. I then fitted the head and tested it and it ran fine. This morning my wife got in the shower before going to work, it started fine, then midway through her shower it packed up, the water stopped flowing. She had it set to Eco and 7 or 8 on the temp setting.

The situation now is that power is getting to the unit as the neon lamp lights. No fuses tripped but when starting the shower (turning the dial to hot, eco or cold) nothing happens. I will phone Triton later but the guarantee reads as if you fit it yourself your not covered! (not sure what their interpretation of competent installer would be) I've checked all the plumbing and wiring...no problem.

I suspect the solenoid but even if right why would it fail so quickly?

Any advice would be very welcome.

Sponsored Links
Thanks I'll get my meter on it.

However, I've noticed in the small print of the installation booklet (and I mean small!!) that the consumer unit should be rated at 80A and mine is only 60A. Could that be the problem? Or if not could it lead to another problem?

On the other hand it did work ok when commissioning, testing and for half a shower! Have I screwed up here, why don't they print this info in big letters on the box.

Be grateful for your opinion