Trouble with immersion heater (water not heating)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am hoping for some help as I am a complete novice to electrical problems and I have a problem with my immersion heater.

Firstly some details: The water heater is a Dimplex SCX, with a capacity of 130 litres. It has two heating elements and was running using a timer (with a booster button on it too) which stopped working and the water stopped heating.

I changed the fuses (there were two switches for it) and the timer started working but the water wasn't heating.

I called someone in and twice they changed the timer and both times it blew out (after a day) and the third time he installed a socket and plugged in a manual timer type thing (sorry for the poor description), and also he combined the two element switches in to one plug which plugs into this timer (phew!). Now the plug is getting hot and I have switched it off in case it blows out too.

Also after this I noticed some leaking of the pipes (this could be unrelated) however, could someone give some advice on what to do

Any help is appreciated and many thanks in advance either way

Nasir

Sponsored Links
I called someone in and twice they changed the timer and both times it blew out (after a day) and the third time he installed a socket and plugged in a manual timer type thing (sorry for the poor description), and also he combined the two element switches in to one plug which plugs into this timer (phew!). Now the plug is getting hot and I have switched it off in case it blows out too.
Nasir
Do you mean he put both cables into one plug?
Bloody Hell! When you want a plumber you can't find one!!!! When you don't..... :D

Sponsored Links
hi Eflimpudence

yes sorry I meant into one plug

Hi Andy

he changed one of the elements

thanks!

I don't fully understand what you've been left with.

Have you now got two single sockets with a heater plugged into each?