1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

TV duff?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by jackg, 10 Jun 2019.

  1. jackg

    jackg

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Panasonic TX-L24XM6B 24" VIERA LED TV
    About 6 years old.
    Was watching it and pressed a button and then no channels.
    The error message is please scan to retune which i did but no channels were identified by the TV.
    Tried it on another aerial in another property and same problem.
    Only used for TV nothing else.
    There have been transmitter work, but the Mendip transmitter required the TV to be retuned on 5th June and it has worked fine since then.
    Is it past its use by date?
     
  2. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,234
    Thanks Received:
    564
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Certainly not past its use by date at just 6 years old. I'm struggling to think what single button you could to wipe all the channels though. That just doesn't seem feasible.

    According to the manual, your set has a DVB-T/T2 tuner, so there's no issue with receiving HD. Have you tried a manual tune to the new Mendip channel frequencies? That are 32, 33, 34, 35, 48 and 52.

    Do you have any other TVs in the property, and if so, are they receiving TV signals okay?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. jackg

    jackg

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I will try manual tune as you suggest and I get 32=C4 etc, but the DVB_T menu screen remains on top of the TV picture for one minute then blank screen.
    the screen message is no channel in the list.
    If I exit the menu when C4 is running then C4 disappears and the message on screen is no channel in the list
    A search online has one response as the main system ic memory is defective.

    When I turn the TV on the error message on the screen is, "please scan channels."
    I do that and no channels are found, however when I select automatic channel search, it searches and gets 174 channels. But I get none to watch.

    Is it worth a shipping condition reset?

    It is the only tv.
     
  4. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,959
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt a reset would cause any harm so maybe that is something to be tried.

    Have you tried using the HDMI input from something? (such as a Playstation/xbox etc.)
    If all else fails you can use the TV with an external tuner.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. jackg

    jackg

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Reset to the shipping condition and this restored functionality. thanks for your advice.
     
  6. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,234
    Thanks Received:
    564
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BIB: Have you got your TV tuning set to the wrong region?

    The TV will report on as many channels as the aerial can pick up. When auto tuning is complete, most TVs then provide an option to filter down to the local transmissions which effectively ignores those other transmissions from adjacent TV regions. However, if you select the wrong TV region, then the TV will ignore the local stations. Do you see?


    #TIP: Do a factory reset, but first, check the condition and fit of the aerial cable connected to the TV.

    Next, go through the First Time Setup procedure carefully; read all the dialogue boxes before you make any choices. Once tuning is complete, if there's an option to switch off auto update (where the TV always looks for new channels) then take this opportunity to switch that feature off.

    A factory reset will clear any options such as Favourite Channels or incorrect TV region that might otherwise prevent the TV working in the normal way. However, it won't fix external issues such as a dodgy coax plug end or aerial issue such as a failed masthead power supply. You need to be sure that the rest of the aerial system is working correctly.

    Ideally, take the smaller TV over to another aerial point connected and working on some other TV in the house. Swap the aerial lead across so that when tuning the small TV you know for sure that there's good signal coming out of the cable end. Once tuning is complete and you've got all your stations back you can then move the now-tuned-TV back to its original home. If the TV still isn't holding its channels then yes, you may have a fault on the IC, but that is a very rare situation.

    Where the TV was tuned and holding its channels correctly, but you find that you still have reception issues in the TVs original home, then it's something to do with the aerial feed at that point rather than the TV.

    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,332
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probable not the cause but could you be selecting Analogue TV and not Digital TV ? A friend's elderly mother does this on a regular basis,
     
  8. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,959
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

Share This Page