Two and a half rads not working - help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Total newb at this plumbing game and really appreciate any help/advice you can offer...

We have a central heating system comprised of a 'unvented hot water cylinder', a '
Vaillant wall mounted gas *thermo-compact* boiler' (which has to be topped up manually, so I guess this means we have a closed system:?: ) and some 'rads', as you chaps here seem to call them.

Last winter we noticed that two of the radiators weren't getting as hot as they once had (both in the same room) and this year they don't get warm at all. Now we have another radiator (in another room) that is not as hot as it used to be...

All radiators have Thermostatic Valves. I've tried bleeding them all and water comes out instantly so don't think that's a problem at all...

Do the valves need replacing, and is this something we can do ourselves, or could it be something else entirely?

The system is as old as the flat, which is just over 10 years old.

Sponsored Links
It could the valves

before we decide can you try turning the rads that work completely off and see if the heat travels to the problem rads

Also check that the non thermostatic (lockshield) valves (at the opp end to the TRV) are properly open

Thanks corgiman.

I turned off all the other rads and one of the problem rads did warm up a little, but not very much.

I checked the LockShield valves and they were fully opened (fully rotated in the + direction). I've since closed and re-opened them but still no joy

:(

Are the pin inside the TVR working freely,they can get struck during the summer season when not in use.

Sponsored Links
You have to take the head of the TRV's depending on the type,normally by unscrewing or a small allen key type or circlip .