UPVC patio doors bowing in middle

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

First post here! I've got some Patiomaster doors which I've had a fair amount of trouble with them since their installation in 2017. They've been adjusted multiple times - despite this, they bow in the middle (the gap between the doors is smaller than at the top and bottom). They've recently been adjusted again by the installers (who have been very accommodating) who have bonded the glass to the frame + using packing material (or something similar - I'm no expert) but the problem continues to persist.

Is this a known issue with UPVC patio doors? If so, can it be remedied? If it's not a known issue, does anyone have suggestions around what to do next? The installer is FENSA registered so the doors come with a 10 year guarantee.

Attachments

• 20200212_070142.jpg
    20200212_070142.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 412
  • 20200212_070138.jpg
    20200212_070138.jpg
    66.9 KB · Views: 516
  • 20200212_070133.jpg
    20200212_070133.jpg
    111.6 KB · Views: 519
  • 20200212_070130.jpg
    20200212_070130.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 412
Sponsored Links
You must have a lot of patience!

By now I would of lost my patience with the company who supplied/fitted them and told them to replace them.

If the doors have been adjusted countless times and it hasn't solved the issue then you should be telling this company to replace them as clearly adjusting them is never going to fix the issue.

I suspect they are very accomodating as it's cheaper for them to keep popping around to adjust then it is to replace the doors/frame

@sircerebus666 - well, I was told that UPVC doors expand/contract based on temperature changes and this is normal. What I'm getting from you is that this isn't normal (in particular, this level of bowing), which suggests the next course of action is to ask for a replacement set.