Valiant Ecotec Plus 637 radiators not heating up fully

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Last year we moved into a converted bungalow that has a Valiant Eco tec plus 637 boiler. Along with a unvented hot water cylinder. The property has been refurbed and both of these are only a few years old.

We have a circuit for downstairs and a circuit for upstairs heating, controlled by two actuators or zone valves. We have a stat in the hallway and one on the 1st floor landing.

When we first moved in, it was winter and all stats were at max. Our gas and electric bill for the first month was £500 so you could imagine our surprise.

I’m an air con engineer by trade so I know a little bit about heating circuits.

I turned the stats down to 21 but the living room, which is quite big struggled to get warm. There was also a back room where the radiator just didn’t get warm. I proceeded to balance the whole system which certainly made it better but still not great.

With that the summer came and the cold nights were soon forgotten but I’ve decided to get ahead of the game now before the cold nights draw in.

We’ve got a magna clean installed and I tool it out and cleaned it and it was totally blocked with about 20mm of black stuff. I cleaned this and put it back. I then checked the temps at each radiator and the most I was getting was 55’C on top of the radiators with some at 45 and 50’C even though the boiler flow was reading 75’C.

I checked the flow sensor and this seems to be reading slightly out. I took this out and cleaned the contact but it didn’t make much of a difference.

The temp of the flow pipework is 68.5 but the boiler is reading it as 75’C, is there a way to put an off set on this sensor?

Even still I suspect this wouldn’t make a huge difference if some of the radiators are only at 50’C but I’m looking for some advice and hopefully some pointers of things to check

Sponsored Links