Wall mounted basin taps - how much do you need to spend

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Am puzzled by the huge range of price for taps that look the same. It doesn't have to be the very best tap ever, but don't want to be replacing it in a couple of years, especially as I was going to bury them in the wall.

Seems like the online places are cheaper, but are they ok on quality?

What about this one, for instance:
http://www.tapsshop.co.uk/Basin-Taps/Wall-Mounted-Basin-Taps/Ka-Wall-Mounted-Basin-Tap.html
Or should I pay another hundred quid for this one:
http://www.tapstore.com/crosswater-kai-lever-2-hole-basin-mixer.html

Would anyone recommend or warn against:
www.bathrooms.com
www.tapshop.co.uk
www.tapstore.com

It's just very hard to know where a sensible price-quality compromise lies as I've no experience of fitting bathroom taps.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
First ones never heard of.
Second ones are from the crosswater selection, crosswater do good gear and spares are available.

what type of system they going on ? both have different min pressures.

First ones never heard of.
Second ones are from the crosswater selection, crosswater do good gear and spares are available.

what type of system they going on ? both have different min pressures.

I don't know exactly how good the water pressure is and I don't think there's an easy way to test with the bathroom ripped out now. The shower in the other part of the flat, supplied by the same boiler, is about the same though.

Is it worth paying for a well-known brand then? Would I regret not paying another hundred now? Can you not expect a decent tap for around the 100 quid mark?

Thanks.

The shower in the other part of the flat, supplied by the same boiler, is about the same though.

Sorry, meant to say that the shower supplied by the same mains and boiler in other part of flat has pretty decent flow.

Sponsored Links
supplied by the same boiler

Is it a combi boiler ? No hot water tank.