Washing Machine trips RCB - I think!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not an electrician but I do have a problem with an RCB that keeps tripping. The RCB is incorporated in an MEM LB6301 Consumer Unit. In the last 6 weeks, we have suffered sevaral trips of the RCB during the time when the washing machine has been operating. Having reported the fault to our electrical appliance insurers, an engineer visited and replaced the washing machine motor. The machine has since been used on 3 occasions without a problem but now on the fourth usage the RCB has again tripped right at the very end of the cycle just as a relay sounds to operate and switch off the cycle. Before sending for the engineer again, does anyone have any suggestions as to which direction to point him in or which tests/checks he should be carrying out?

When I say "trip", the RCB does not move from its upward position but has to be manually moved from the up to the down and then back to up to restore power.

Sponsored Links
I think that in some RCDs the handle doesn't move so as to stop you holding it on when it wants to trip.

You don't say what is the trip current of the RCD?

Water and RCDs is a bad mix. Things like water heaters can have a standing leakage so the trip may be caused by having the HW tank on as well the washing machine (or the oven or the grill as all elements can leak earth current).

BTW is there any sign of water leaking that could be causing the problem? You wouldn't need much.

As for tests the obvious is to measure the earth line current with a sensitive clamp on meter while the washing machine goes through its cycle. Whatever causes a jump in the current must be suspect. Or if there is a large current to start with, say from the EMC filter at the cable input.