Water Damage due to shower door. How to repair?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Firstly I should say that I am a complete DIY novice and have a real fear of it.

We just moved into a new house and have discovered that the shower unit is not watertight and water has been coming into contact with a plasterboard wall. It seems like this has been happening for a while as the wall is a little damaged. We are now looking to replace the shower door as having it sealed doesn't appear to have worked.

Aside from replacing the door I would like to get the wall fixed as its a bit unsightly. The guy who came round to seal the shower door said that it would be an easy job and I should do it myself. He suggested poking away the damaged wall and then using a foam filler to fill in the gap. After letting it dry I would then need to simply sand it down and pain over it. Would this work? I'm a bit worried about poking away at the wall to be honest.

Anyway, what do you guys suggest? Please be gentle. Im a novice :(

If there is a chance that I could mess up badly then I'm happy to pay a pro to repair it. If I do how much would it cost do you think?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_2846.JPG
    IMG_2846.JPG
    85 KB · Views: 161
Sponsored Links
Let's see...*puts on glasses on tip of nose*

Pop down to screw fix, and pick these up...

http://www.screwfix.com/p/no-nonsense-dual-moulded-stripping-knife-3/19995

http://www.screwfix.com/p/ronseal-exterior-ready-mixed-wall-filler-grey-1-2kg/71739

Over all your cost shouldn't reach beyond £10.

Simply scrape out loose plaster and brush out dust with a paintbrush, till all bubbling plaster leaves an even wall that isn't damaged. Let the area dry, or dry with a hair dryer.

starting on one corner, and don't rush to fill it all in, build up the filler as you go along.