water pressure and pipe diameter.....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm replacing a bathroom at the moment, im not a pro.

I've recently replaced the taps on the existing bath with a mixer shower tap. The pipes that run around the room are 15mm cold and 22mm hot.

When I put the new mixer in I took a spur off of the pipes using 300mm x 15mm flexible connectors - so the hot steps down from 22mm to 15mm a foot before it gets to the tap.

The old hot tap had 22mm all the way up to about an inch before the tap where it was then reduced to fit the tap.

The old tap hot tap had really good pressure - the new tap has really poor pressure.......I'm just wondering what the science is behind this. It's not really an issue as the whole lot will be coming out and will be replaced......but obviously, I'd like to get the pressure right on the new bath.

Sponsored Links
Is it really a change in pressure that you're seeing? Or a change in the flow rate?

Pressure and flow are two different variables - that took me a while to get my head around, and I did an engineering degree back in the '90s !!

Also, are you on a combi boiler or have you got a hot water tank?

Some taps are only suitable for higher pressure supplies which you probably won't have if you don't have a combi.

Sponsored Links
Yes, as Denso mentions, if you're on a combi then you're pressure will be that of the mains coming off the street - usually around 3 bar, but must vary a lot by time and location. With a combi, your flow rate will be dictated by the boiler - basically the boiler lets the water flow through the heat exchanger at a speed that will impart the necessary temperature change. So you end up with a slow flow rate at a high pressure.