Wet bricks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.I'm a young builder and dealing with a damp issue thats bigger than I have ever delt with before. I am currently working on a renovation for a family member.
The house has had roofing issues, no windows and broken guttering which has been rectified. All old lime plaster and rotted joists have been replaced but the bricks are still soaking wet,I still am yet to repoint the soft damaged mortar above damp course and have large amounts of salt deposit's over a 2 meter stretch underneath the floorboards below damp coures. I have come to the assumption that water was coming down from the leaking gutter,broken window and a leaking flatroof. My question is do I need to use anything on the brickwork to seal them after removing the salt. Also as this is a 9" brick wall with no cavity and is extremely uneven what's the best way of replacing the plaster? I was thinking of using a vapour barrier and stud wall. About 50mm off the brickwork. Would I also need to insulate this new cavity. Thanks for any advice.

Attachments

• 20150904_152639-1.jpg
    20150904_152639-1.jpg
    68 KB · Views: 183
Sponsored Links
OMG this sounds like a disaster waiting to happen. You say all old lime plaster has been removed, you say its a solid wall not cavity.

Sounds like this house was build to breath, you cant go about putting brick sealer on, you should be replacing old lime plaster with new lime plaster. The pointing needs to be done in traditional lime mortar NOT cement, and it will take time to dry out. Before you go any further research traditional building materials and methods for solid wall lime construction. You could seriously damage the house with incorrect modern materials.

Out of interest, I did some window restoration on an old solid walled house a few years back. It had already been gutted, lime plaster removed, and while I was there a team of spreads were replastering, not with traditional lime but modern plaster.