Wetroom tiles 'squidgy'

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We've moved into a new house. After enjoying the fancy wetroom webew noticed one of the tiles on the floor near the drain is loose and water bubbles up if you step on it.

I'm new to wetroom but I suspect this is a bad sign, any pointers on things to check on? My intent is to lift that tile to see what's underneath, but I'm concerned I might have to lift and redo redo the entire floor?

Sponsored Links
If its a new house ,get the builders to sort it. If you mean its just new to you ,but not a new build ,then get a pro in to assess . last week i went to a couples house ( been in several weeks ,so new to them ) ,to investigate leak on ceiling in kitchen ,below shower in bathroom above. Major damage to flooring joists caused by water seeping from shower enclosure ,costly repairs to follow. Get it looked at by a pro.

its a very bad sign. you dont now how long its been goin on. the odds are you will have to lift and redo the whole floor.
most water damage in bathrooms from my experience comes from,
leaking enclosures, WC/soil pipe connection, an leaking plumbing

Sorry for the delay, despite the gradually worsening smell (me, not the wetroom) that had to drop down the to-do list.

The house is new to me, the previous owner had great ambitions but doesn't seem to have a perfect eye for details.

I've popped up a few tiles to take a look. The surface underneath looks more like cement than anything else. The two tiles I've lifted don't seem to have kept anything. The grouting, or at least I hope they did use grout, is all pretty crumbly. I'll probably have to bite the bullet and bring in a pro, but pulling things apart first is fun.

If I were to have a go at this would I need to lift the entire tiled floor and then scrape off whatever they used as adhesive and start afresh or is a patch possible for the short term?

Attachments

• 20181021_151654.jpg
    20181021_151654.jpg
    190.1 KB · Views: 338