WHAT SIZE POND PUMP DO I BUY CAN ANYONE PLEASE PLEASE HELP

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have just installed our first pond (looking really good) its a preformed one and holds about 80 gallons. Now, I am looking to buy a pump in order to have a little spinkle in the middle but would also like it have a filter, but now the filters which you have to have outside the pond and hide, just a basic filter would do fine. I am finding several of these seem suitable in the wording but then I see things like...
Height Flow
Max Flow
2000lts/440Gals
what does all this mean. Does it mean it only suitable for a pond which holds 440 gallons. Can anyone explain. I am only a beginner so dont be too harsh. I am planning on just a couple of goldfish and some plants. Your help would really be appreciated. :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Sponsored Links
If you just wan't a fountain spray with no fish, I would use a 1/4 hp submersable from the plumbing dept of your local outlet .
This will easly pump 100 gal. per hr. and is a lot cheaper than a pump from your garden center.
If it is to strong, on the outlet attach a short plastic pipe with 3or4 1/4 inch dia holes to reduce pressure to your sprayer.

If you just wan't a fountain spray with no fish, I would use a 1/4 hp submersable from the plumbing dept of your local outlet .
This will easly pump 100 gal. per hr. and is a lot cheaper than a pump from your garden center.
If it is to strong, on the outlet attach a short plastic pipe with 3or4 1/4 inch dia holes to reduce pressure to your sprayer.

Sorry, Although what you have said will work, its bad advice.

you may want to read this

a bit long winded, but true

Sponsored Links